Fox Sports Unveils Its 2010 NFL Announcing Lineup

This just in from Fox Sports, we have the announcing teams for the network’s 2010 NFL coverage. New are former Atlanta and Seattle coach Jim Mora, Jr., former quarterback Kurt Warner and former NFL head of officiating Mike Pereira. Trent Green has been dropped and Warner takes his place. It’s also nice to see Charissa Thompson back in the lineup. She missed several games last year due to a broken foot. Here’s the release.


Jim Mora Jr., Kurt Warner Added as Game Analysts
Former NFL VP of Officiating Mike Pereira Joins FOX NFL SUNDAY as Rules Analyst
Buck, Aikman and Oliver Call Super Bowl XLV From Dallas, TX & Surpasses Summerall/Madden as FOX Sports’ Longest Tenured Broadcast Team
New YorkFOX Sports’ 17th straight year as the primary broadcast home for NFL viewers enters the upcoming season welcoming three new faces to an already outstanding roster of broadcasting talent. This year’s FOX Sports newcomers are former NFL head coach Jim Mora Jr., Super Bowl-winning quarterback and league MVP Kurt Warner, and retired NFL vice president of officiating Mike Pereira who joins FOX NFL SUNDAY as rules analyst. The announcement was made today by FOX Sports President Eric Shanks.       
Six-time Emmy Award-winning play-by-play announcer Joe Buck, NFL Hall-of-Famer Troy Aikman and the NFL’s premiere pregame and sideline reporter Pam Oliver, once again headline as the NFL on FOX’s lead broadcast team marking their ninth season in that role. On their way to calling their third Super Bowl February 6, 2011 from Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX, the trio surpasses the legendary broadcast team of Pat Summerall and John Madden as the network’s longest tenured broadcast team.
“With an increasingly intelligent football audience, our pregame and game broadcast lineup is  primed to inform, analyze, entertain and bring viewers closer to the NFL than ever before,” said FOX Sports President Eric Shanks. 
As son of former New Orleans Saints and Indianapolis Colts head coach Jim Mora Sr., Mora Jr. brought over 20 years of defensive philosophy as head coach for the Seattle Seahawks (2009) and the Atlanta Falcons (2004-06). Mora joins legendary play-by-play announcer Dick Stockton and analyst Charles Davis to call his first game Sunday, Sept. 12 in Pittsburgh as the Steelers host the Atlanta Falcons. 
Retired quarterback Kurt Warner first gained notoriety as a member of the St. Louis Rams (1998-2003) where we was a two-time NFL MVP (1999, 2001) and led the Rams to victory in Super Bowl XXXIV on his way to being named Super Bowl MVP. He later led the Arizona Cardinals to Super Bowl XLIII, the franchise’s first-ever appearance. Warner joins play-by-play announcers Chris Rose or Chris Myers on select games this season. His first assignment is covering his former team on Sunday, October 10 as the Cardinals play host to the World Champion Saints.
Former NFL Vice President of officiating Mike Pereira contributes as FOX Sports’ first-ever rules analyst. Pereira will be situated in his own control room at the FOX Network Center in Los Angeles, giving him visual access to all games played. If circumstances warrant a rules interpretation or explanation, he’ll be available to interact with FOX NFL SUNDAY studio personalities, or communicate with every NFL on FOX game crew at stadiums across the country, either on- or off-camera.  
This season marks Buck’s 17th with FOX Sports and Aikman’s 10th, while sideline reporter Pam Oliver returns for her 16th. The group calls its first game from Philadelphia on Sept. 12 as the Eagles host the Green Bay Packers. For the fourth consecutive year, former Cowboys fullback Daryl Johnston teams with play-by-play announcer Kenny Albert and on-field analyst Tony Siragusa. Kenny, “Moose” and “Goose” are in East Rutherford, NJ for the unveiling of the new Meadowlands stadium as the Giants host the Carolina Panthers.  
Each week, the NFL on FOX broadcast day begins with FOX NFL SUNDAY (12:00 PM ET), America’s most-watched NFL pregame show. The one-hour prelude is the recipient of 20 Emmy Awards and stars co-hosts Terry Bradshaw and Curt Menefee, analysts Howie Long, Jimmy Johnson and Michael Strahan, insider Jay Glazer, comedic prognosticator Frank Caliendo, and Pereira.  Bradshaw and Long have been with the show since its debut in 1994, and Bradshaw won the 2008 Emmy for Outstanding Studio Analyst, his third.
The 2010 NFL on FOX campaign kicks off Sunday, Sept. 12 (1:00 PM ET) with doubleheader coverage of six games, highlighted by Aaron Rodgers and the Green Bay Packers heading into Philadelphia to battle quarterback Kevin Kolb and the new-look Eagles. Week 1 also features Eli Manning and the Giants christening their new home against the Panthers while talented young quarterbacks collide in St. Louis as Matt Leinart and the Cardinals face off against No. 1 draft-pick Sam Bradford and the Rams.   
Following are the NFL on FOX announcer pairings for 2010:
Joe Buck, Troy Aikman & Pam Oliver
Kenny Albert, Daryl Johnston, Tony Siragusa
Dick Stockton, Charles Davis, Jim Mora Jr. & Laura Okmin
Thom Brennaman, Brian Billick & Charissa Thompson
Sam Rosen, Tim Ryan & Chris Myers
Ron Pitts, John Lynch & Nischelle Turner
Chris Myers/Chris Rose, Kurt Warner
Stockton, Pitts and Albert have the distinction of being the only members of the group to work NFL on FOX games full-time since FOX Sports’ inception in 1994. Oliver, as previously mentioned, is in her 16th season, followed by Rosen (15), Buck (13), Aikman and Johnston (10), Ryan (9), Brennaman (8), Glazer and Siragusa (7), Myers (6), Billick (3), Rose (3) Lynch and Davis (2), Mora and Warner. 
The complete 2009 regular season averaged 19.1 million viewers, smashing the previous NFL on FOX record of 18.2 million set in 1995 by almost a million viewers and more than two million more viewers than a year ago (17.0 million). As for the household ratings, 2009 averaged an 11.4/23, the NFL on FOX’s best average rating in 14 years (12.5/29 in 1995), and a +9% gain over last season’s 10.5/22. The 9% ratings increase and +12% in average audience represent the biggest single-year increases in NFL on FOX history.

David Hill, Ed Goren and Eric Shanks are the Executive Producers of FOX Sports.  Bill Brown is Senior Producer. Scott Ackerson is the Coordinating Producer of FOX NFL SUNDAY and Bob Levy directs. 

We’re done here.

About Ken Fang

Ken has been covering the sports media in earnest at his own site, Fang's Bites since May 2007 and at Awful Announcing since March 2013. He provides a unique perspective having been an award-winning radio news reporter in Providence and having worked in local television. Fang celebrates the three Boston Red Sox World Championships in the 21st Century, but continues to be a long-suffering Cleveland Browns fan.